

LEGAL JOURNALIST OF THE YEAR AWARD 2010



AWARDING OUTSTANDING LEGAL JOURNALISM

The Webber Wentzel Legal Journalist of the Year Award recognises outstanding work in the field of legal journalism. It was founded in 1999 to acknowledge the role played by journalists in promoting knowledge of the judiciary and understanding of the country's civil and criminal justice systems.

THE PRIZES

Print Media: R50 000
Electronic Media: R50 000
No runner up prizes will be awarded.

WHO MAY ENTER

Any journalist reporting on legal issues in the print or electronic media in the Republic of South Africa

THE AWARDS CEREMONY

The winners will be announced at an a vard ceremony to be held at Webber Wentzel, 10 Fricker Road, Illovo Boulevard, Johannesburg on Tuesday 30 November 2010. The guest speaker at the ceremony will be Zapiro.

CLOSING DATE FOR ENTRIES

Entries must be received by no later than 17h00 on Wednesday, 13 October 2010.

By post: Webber Wentzel Legal Journalist of the Year Award

P.O. Box 61771, Marshalltown, 2107

By hand: Christine Makama, Webber Wentzel,

10 Fricker Road, Illovo Boulevard, Johannesburg

By email: christine.makama@webberwentzel.com

(Proof of publication must be included)

JUDGES



JUDGE ALBIE SACHS



TAWANA KUPE

Professor Tawana Kupe is Accociate Professor in Media Studies and Dean of the Faculty of Humanities at Wits University. He has taught Media Studies at universities in South Africa, Zimbabwe and Norway. He has been c columnist for The Sunday Times, City Press,



Franz Kruger is adjunct professor and director 2006. Both are widely used as prescribed text FRANZ KRUGER at colleges and universities in South Africa and

JUDGING CRITERIA

Quality of reporting that demonstrates the ability to understand, interpret and provide in-depth analysis or comment on legal issues and developments that impact on society and people's lives. Balanced and objective reporting and clarity in terms of representing how the given issues impact on or affect the future. Ability of the entrant to report on one or more aspects of the legal issues and proceedings.

GUIDELINES FOR SUBMISSIONS

Entrants should submit no more than four articles published between 1 September 2009 and 31 August 2010 in the print category and no more than four DVDs, CDs, video clips or cassette recordings of broadcasts made between 1 September 2009 and 31 August 2010. The four articles or broadcasts may be on individual topics or part of a series of articles or programmes. Submissions should be accompanied by a brief synopsis of their content, together with the reasons for their selection. Editorial commentary submissions should be accompanied by a letter from the entrant's editor confirming that the material is the entrant's own work. Radio entries should not

2007-2009 WINNERS

Franny Rabkin: Business Day Electronic media: Hazel Friedman: SABC

Rob Rose: Financial Mail

2007

Jeremy Gordin: Sunday Independent Stephen Grootes: Eyewitness News

ENTRY FORM

PRIZES

Print Media R50 000
Electronic Media: R50 000

Please tick the appropriate category, complete the form and attach it to your submission.

PRINT

Name

Title

Company (if applicable)

Address

Telephone (code and number)



RULES

- The 2010 Webber Wentzel Legal Journalist of the Year Award is open to all journalists working and reporting on legal issues in the Republic of South Africa on a freelance basis or as full time employee.
- Articles written by Webber Wentzel staff and legal professionals for legal publications are excluded.
- For the print category, no more than four articles published between 1 September 2009 and 31 August 2010 should be submitted. The electronic category includes radio and television and no more than four DVD's, CDs, video clips or cassette recordings of broadcasts made between 1 September 2009 and 31 August 2010 should be submitted. Radio entries submitted should not exceed 20 minutes in length.
- The four articles or broadcasts may be on individual topics or part of a series of articles or programmes
- Submissions should be accompanied by a brief synopsis of their content, together with the journalist's reasons for having selected them. Editorial commentary submissions should be accompanied by a letter from the entrants' editor confirming that they material is that of the entrant.
- Entries may be in any of the South Africa's official languages.
- Finalists will be notified in writing and no correspondence will be entered into
- The judge's decision is final and judges reserve the right to withhold prizes where entries in their opinion fail to meet the requisite standards.
- The prizes are not transferable
- The prizes will be presented at an official awards function at 12h30 on Tuesday 30 November 2010
- Finalists agree to be photographed and will be required to attend the awards ceremony.

